Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
US Air Force (retired)
13,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I cannot convince myself to get a new MMR 4.75L 7500 rpm motor and a new 26 spline transmission. I've been saving for this for about four years. The money is in the bank. But my car is a daily driver. I already have no traction in first and little in second (even with DRs). I only go to the track for fun. I ran a 12.7. That beat my old 426 Dodge.

I almost pulled the trigger last month. Clutch went bad, intake manifold broke, COPs went bad. But all of that stuff will be transferred to the new motor. Now that everything is fixed except the intermittent miss, I cannot convince myself to replace a perfectly good motor. It burns no oil and it has been superchargered for 90,000 miles.

I want one but I don't think it fits my daily driver needs. Maybe in a couple of years. What do you think?

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Do it! You can always have it on stand by for when and if your stock motor goes.

Or just hit 100k miles blown on your stock motor and replace it lol.

That's the same motor I'm thinking about getting, at least the rotating assembly.

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
You should do it! You have been saving for 4 years so obviously you want to do it!

·
US Air Force (retired)
13,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I want to. But I also want to see how long the stock motor will last. Last week when I was trying to troubleshoot the miss I hit 6000 rpms about as often every hour as the track. Bounced off the rev limiter a dozen times. The SES light started blinking at me (I have no idea what that means) but then it went away.

If I pull the trigger I'm going to buy JKoldFleisch's motor. 10:1 compression ratio with Trick Flow 38 cc heads. With a P1SC it made 518 rwhp. But that means new injectors, new fuel pumps, etc. And the stock computer won't go 7500 anyway.

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
If the SES flashes, it's a misfire.