Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've had an Autometer cobalt A/F wideband and a mechanical boost/vacuum gauge sitting in my house for over a month now, I just had to wait until I installed my supercharger. Between work and school I finally got some time this evening to tackle it.

I did a lot of reading and trying to look up info on the wiring, as I am a complete rookie at that, and that took more time than the actual install.

I had a bung wielded in just above the driver-side cat. I took the pipe to the muffler shop and he charged me $15. I ran the wideband sensor from the bung up to the driver side grommet that is behind the driver-side front wheel. Just pop of your wheel well cover closest to the door and you will see it. This is also where I ran my vacuum/boost nylon line.

To power the wideband gauge, I bought a mini add-a-circuit from a nearby autoshop and tapped into the fuzebox in the passenger-side kick panel (this seemed to be the most popular choice). It was very easy, I picked an open slot and added a 10 fuze to the add-a-circuit. I ran my red wire (power) from the gauge pod behind the radio (there is a nice gap that is easily accessible), up behind my glove box, and down to the kick panel. For ground, I did the exact same thing, except when you open your passenger door, on the side of the dash is a small panel that you can reach from inside the glovebox to push out, there are two excellent grounding bolts there. I ran my ground for the vacuum/boost gauge to the other bolt here.

To power the vacuum/boost gauge, I piggybacked on the dimmer switch next to the head light switch. I pulled the cluster out and tapped the black wire with a white stripe. This enables the gauge to light up when I turn on my parking or head lights, and the dash dimmer also will dim the gauge.