Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Not A Regular Member
17,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to install some (12v) LED strips under the dash in my 2000 Mustang to give it a little more of a personal look. I've got some real basic knowledge when it comes wiring but I'm not going to start messing with my Mustang until I know exactly what I'm doing. So I was wondering if anyone has a fairly detailed write-up (or a link to one (even a video would work)) on how to install these.

Thanks guys :)

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
how do you want to do it? do you want them to power up via a switch or would you like them to come on whenever the door is opened? i think a couple of people on here have done it but if you want something more specific I can walk you through it.

·
Not A Regular Member
17,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm thinking power them off/on via a switch. I think they're illegal in my state to have on while driving so I gotta be able to flip them off if the police pull me over.

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
easy enough. what you will need to do is cut the wire connected to the LED strip. make sure to note which wire is positive and negative and also check to make sure that the unit is 12 volts in and 12 volts out and not 12 in and 5 out as the later will not work by just cutting it.
take the negative wire and find a spot with bare metal or take a self tapping screw and drill a hole for the ground.
then take the postive wire and tap it into this wire:
Parking Lights BROWN (+) DRIVER'S KICK PANEL
it will be in the 26 pin plug, pin 20 at the GEM module (generic electronic module)

please be sure to test all wire before tapping into them

·
Not A Regular Member
17,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #8