Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I already have a built straight axle and full adjustable rear suspension. Was wondering if it would be better to swap that into a Termi or leave the braced IRS in it? What kinda weight reduction would the swap be?

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
IRS weight > SRA weight

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
someone here in vegas did it to a whippled cobra has 700hp on 100 octane and loved the solid axle swap. i like my swap too it feels more solid. i got in his car, mine you can feel the bumps way more than on his. Its just the way you choose your after market parts, control arms, bushings, shocks, ect.....

oh and when i first did the swap the car feels way lighter

·
Registered
169 Posts
its about 150lbs difference,the sra being lighter ofcourse.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Bear with me as I'm still learning, but is 150 pounds really enough of a difference in weight or is it more that the SRA is better built to handle the power without breaking?

Why is it that the SRA puts power to the ground more efficiently than a SRA, in regards to hard launches/straight line acceleration?

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
IRS are mostly made for curving maneuvers like road racing, etc. It is harder for them to squat down for launches. Most Cobra owners will swap their IRS for Solid if they take their car to the track a lot. Really depends on what your usage is going to be.

·
Registered
2,365 Posts
id say if you have sra then id keep it, if you have irs and go to the track A LOT then switch to sra and make it bulletproof, if you go to the track just sometimes then just beef up the irs some and just have fun, or if you have sra and go to the track just sometimes then just beef that up some.

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
There's a few things going on here.

The first is that drag racers have been working with the 4-link SRA since 1979. That's a LOT of experience.