Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
11,200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the deal......

For those of you who dont know. Im a HVAC servic tech. Through out the 6 or so years ive been doing this, ive found that aluminum coil are a lot more fragile and much harder to repair then copper. Since then, i really dont trust aluminum coils.

So, i set out going to all my local auto parts store trying to find a copper heater core. And guess what ? Not a single one carries them. Although they did have aluminum ones with a life time warranty for around $20. Well a 20 dollar heater core with a life time warranty doesnt mean jack sh*t to me if i have to take my dash apart twice.

Alright lets move on. I googled copper heater cores, and i saw that ( AM which stands for aftermarket auto parts) sells both copper and aluminum heater core. So i bought one for $62. When it gets to my house, i open the box..... what do i see ? An aluminum heater core. So i messaged AM. They were quick to get back to me ( keep in mind that there heater cores i believe are drop shiped) and they were vary nice and asked if id be happy with a partial refund. I told them that what i want is a copper heater core. They asked for pictures, i then sent them. Next thing i know, they refunded my $62 and said to keep the aluminum heater core. Like i said, thats not how i wanted to fix this issue, i wanted the copper heater core..lol

I dont really have any complaints with AM, i would buy from them again, but i wish they would have fixed the issue vs. just giving me a refund, i guess it was cheaper just to cut there loses.
So now im wondering what should i do ? Stick with my gut and find another place with a copper heater core or use this free aluminum one ?

I know LMR has the one i want but i think $120 is a bit much. I believe my local auto parts store said they could order the ford copper core for $80, but the dilemma is, i have a free core just kicking it in my garage now.

·