Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright well I put my new wheels on, 18x9.5 275s all 4 corners, the car seems to take turns a lot better then when I had stock in the front with 315s in rear, I wasn't crazy about how the front looks wider than the rear though (fender gap) so I put a set of I believe 5/16th spacers on, looked better but when I went for s test ride it didn't seem to corner like it did with out them. Is this just me or does anyone agree?

Little about the car, eibach pro springs, IRS, tokico shocks all the way around, nitto tires before and after.

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
I'm not a fan of spacers. If you're going to use them, get some very high quality ones and you won't sacrifice performance, but they'll set you back a few hundred.

·
Super Moderator
13,580 Posts
My knowledge of suspension is growing, but Im no expert. I can tell you that for some reason all the cars I have drove with staggered wheels " Wider rear wheels" seem to handle much better. My lexus has staggered wheels and I was able to out run a Z-06 in the Twisties and he had a high dollar moddified suspension. My Convertible handles much better since I have staggered wheels as well it sticks pretty well in the Corners.

·
Abyssinian of AX
7,994 Posts
Your handling will "technically" improve with a set of spacers, so your mindza makin' tricks on ya, playa :yes

WIth that said, I think it a bad idea to install such a spacer. you have lost 5/16" of thread engagement and not a whole lot up front from the start. I recommend you remove them or install a set of studs that will give you additional threads in which to secure the wheel. Did you notice the change in handling only after the spacers or after 315's were installed?

Jazzer :)

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
Discussion Starter #5