Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was wondering where i can find these at. I have grown tired of loosing belts from the vortech setup , its hitting the wallet hard to keep buying all these belts. i figure this will help because apparently its the stock tensioner that can not hold up. i heard they make manual tensioner arms so i would like to buy one if possible.

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
nothing ?

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Shouldn't be having that many issues. Is the blower pulley on backwards? Or out of alignment? Also, the tension should have about 1/2" til it hits the stop. If its to big, the tensioner will flex and the belt will come loose.

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Also, I use a dayco tensioner, and gates belt. Works great

·
Head Unicorn
5,085 Posts
I have no experience on the modular with a supercharger....... however, on my 93 Vortech'd Cobra I had the same issue of slinging/shredding belts. I pulled my damned hair out trying to fix the problem. I rarely drove the car, it was more of a trailer queen/garage ornament because it had 29K miles when I sold it at 11 years old.

The guy I sold it to emailed me about a month after he bought it asking if I ever had belt issues. I told him I had some over the years and his response was that he had to shim the Vortech 3/32" (if I remember correctly) to align it properly because he kept slinging belts. I'd damn sure check the alignment if I were you, it never crossed my mind back then that this was the problem.

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
For the one with the A/c delete. i dont want the AC delete part. but i was wondering if it works with then tentioner part alone ?

·
Registered
21,024 Posts