Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
howdy folks,

im new to the mustang world (actually, the beyond-consumer car world in general) and would like some feedback on my plans before I run out and start my project this summer :)

First, I should explain what I'm looking for in a mustang:

- A daily driver that turns heads
- A good amount of power for those times nobody is watching, or some dork in a high-end BMW decides to taunt me (hilarious story if anyone is interested)
- Something to play with and learn about working on cars, how to tune them, etc
- Something gorgeous ;-)

So I've pretty much decided on the 2011+ V6, given its low $/HP -- a friend just picked up a mint 2011 for $15k. Question is, what do I do with it once I've got it ;-) These are my planned mods, in order of first thing to last thing:

- Cold air intake (any feedback on which brand I should be looking at?)
- Full exhaust (headers, everything -- see magnaflow's offerings, but intersted in others)
- Tune (Is there a specific company that makes a better tuner setup than th rest?)
- Lowering (1" front, 1.5" rear, struts, mounts, camber plates)
- ProCharger
- 4.10 gears (is this nuts? i'm basing this off an article I read somewhere where this performed well)
- Lighter-weight steel flywheel, carbon-fiber driveshaft (picked CF over aluminum due to decreased cabin noise)
- Aluminum wheels + toyo proxes 1 tires

Miscellaneous things I'm considering to improve look and "cool" factor, and overall long-distance driving experience
- Rear seat removal with full Pioneer stage 4 audio installation, with the subs where the rear seats used to be ;-)
- Full window tinting
- Aftermarket glass roof
- Lambo-style vertical doors

Things I'm just not sure about:
- Brake upgrades
- Strut tower brace
- Other suspension upgrades?!

Is there anything here I shouldn't do? Should do? Should do differently, or in a different order?

Thanks so much :)

Cheers,
Aaron

·