Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
"Spectre" Veteran
492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, some of you may have read of a noise I'm experiencing for the past 1-1/2 months or so. After a run down the drag strip awhile back, I noted some noise seemingly coming from the rear of my car. I made 4 passes that night, only one was hot-lapped. About 5-7 days later, I developed a noise. I thought it was coming from the rear at first, but am not 100% sure since I can't narrow it down. I could swerve left to right and the noise will change...left turns being quiet with NO noise under a hard turn, straightline being usual noise, and right turns making it somewhat more defined/louder. Braking has no effect on it, though I did make a VERY fast stop on the drag strip being I was a newb out there and turned into the FIRST exit past the finish line...scaring the crap out of everyone (hey, no one told me about that when I asked what to do!). Still, the brakes held up fine. Back to the noise, though, acceleration makes it more defined while coasting does not rid me of the noise, but it's severity seems decreased. I have changed both axle bearings (actually found one on left side had spun a little and marked the housing tube...emery cloth cleaned it up, though) and the front wheel hub assemblies (bearing starting to go a little on left side) in pursuit of the noise. While in the rear end, a visual of the pumpkin/axles seemed to indicate it was in good shape. Did not remove any of it, though. I also installed a new girdled cover (TA) with Royal Purple @ ~2.5 qts (increased 0.5 qts with new cover). I can't find anything loose, have not found tire rub, and am planning on checking brakes again on all corners to ensure I don't have problems there. I am running Powerslots all around with ceramic brakes/stock calipers up front, and semi-metallics (until I upgrade to ceramic) and stock calipers out back. I have also changed out the driveshaft, since I found grease at its CV jo