Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first post, Hi everyone! Like the site.
I recently bought a 97 GT auto. Car runs great. Previous owner had already installed CAI, O/R X-pipe, and Flowmasters. In the past week I have replaced the intake because the outlet for the heater hose had cracked and someone tried to fix it by using jb weld or something. I G-Techd the car Friday night and could not get out the hole without spinning some but ran 15.71 @ 91 mph first pass and 15.74 @ 94mph on the second pass. Well atleast she's consistent.... My buddy with a stock Dakota runs a 15.8 and is talking alot of smack!!!
I am new to these cars, all I have known is carbs,cam,heads, and gears..
What should my next mod be?

·
Doc
37,101 Posts
welcome to the forums.

your Gears would be a great start followed shortly by a PI swap (heads,cams,intake)

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, being an auto I am guessing 4.10s shouldnt be an overkill. As for the PI swap, this means Plastic Intake correct? Are we talking all aluminum or?

·
Doc
37,101 Posts
even the PI intake is plastic for the most part. your talking about the aluminum crossover on it. and PI stands for "Performance Improved"

4:10's would be fine

·
Registered
82 Posts
pi swaps are great but if you are on more of a tight budget there are some things you can do to get some power with out having to do a whole lot of motor work, gears are definitely a good thing, but underdrive pulleys for $150-200, headers (shorties for around $300) and a chip (i've seem some for $250) would be a good improvement.
If you can do all your own motor work tho then i'd say go for the swap but for the guys like me who dont trust themselves enough to start ripping thing appart this is easier :)

·
The UPS guy
3,232 Posts
4.10's...you already have an x pipe and catback, and CAI....get gears...maybe a tuner sct or diablo...i bet you could break into the 14's with practice

·