Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a repost from another thread:

Hey Guys,
I'm new at this but thought it was the best way to get some expirenced answers to some questions that I had. First off I have 90 lx 2.3L Mustang. Some of the changes that I have made have been 8.8 tracloc rearend, cold air intake, and ranger header. My question is what is a good cam for street/strip use? I thank you guys for your time and will be waiting for all your input.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have access to a 91 to 93 roller cam but I don't know if I can get more hp from a after market one or not.

·
Registered
11 Posts
would you be better off going with the 91-93 roller cam or the cams from esslinger?
why do you guys keep telling people the site esslinger because that site has nothing to do with cars at all its for watches and jewelry stuff lol. also another ? what do you guys mean when you use the phrase 2.3 n/a is that a certain motor or something its confusing me to heck

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
N/A is an acronym for Naturally aspirated induction, meaning the engine uses atmospheric pressure to charge the cylinders, not a turbo or supercharger to fill the cylinders.

Craig.

·
Registered
11 Posts
N/A is an acronym for Naturally aspirated induction, meaning the engine uses atmospheric pressure to charge the cylinders, not a turbo or supercharger to fill the cylinders.

Craig.
oh ok thanks for the info thats what i kinda thought but wasnt sure if i was in the right direction or not

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
OOzzy, if you don't want to pull the valve springs out of the head, you could choose a cam which has less than .425" lift.

Racer Walsh RWA1431R

Crane 194621

and Comp Cams 260H # 70-123-5.

All of these cams fall within the parameters of what the stock valve springs will handle, if you are just looking for a bolt on and you don't want to pull the head.