18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
89 5.0 starts up but dies, will restart and run rough then
it smooths out and runs ok. This all happens with a cold
engine, any ideas? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Bump, I just had this happen to me today. I was thinking about just raising the idle but that is more of a band-aid fix then anything

·
Registered
61 Posts
check and...ok will do.

·
Better than Drugs!
2,064 Posts
check your salt and pepper connectors, make sure you have 02's, check the air intake tube. sometime the clamp can move the tube just enough to suck in unmetered air. Free **** is always good to do first. I had a problem like that on my 95 and I changed the 02's, went away.

·
Registered
61 Posts
You see though the engine has not been touched since i got it. how may o2's on a 5.0? one for each bank? bear with me i am still learning about these v8's

and what are black and white connections?

·
Registered
6,990 Posts
Two 02's for a 5.0 and the black and white (salt and pepper shakers) are the connectors on the backside of the upper intake manifold. They have the fuel related wiring running through them.

·
Better than Drugs!
2,064 Posts
Never hurts to check them out.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for the tips, I'll check those items, hopefully it's something simple.

The car does have to sit for several hours for the problem to show up,
just sitting for a hour or two it starts and runs fine.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Two 02's for a 5.0 and the black and white (salt and pepper shakers) are the connectors on the backside of the upper intake manifold. They have the fuel related wiring running through them.
So why is thel fuel wiring running through the mani? injector related? egr crap? or is it just using it as a bolt anchor while it is running to some other place? again sorry for all the questions just trying to pick up everything i can. I will deff look at it all tomorrow

·
Registered
4,875 Posts