Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ok im completely new to mustangs. Or even fords. I have done some work on chevrolet's and my dad is a gm mechanic and bulds small block chevy race cars. I recently purchased a 2000 mustang gt 5 speed that was missing terribly bad. The guy missed a shift and went to first instead of third and overrevved the engine bad. I pulled the plug and ran a bore scope in there to find a huge hole in the #3 piston. So out comes the engine. This is where i need help. Ive done some searching and cannot fond a write up on engine removal and what makes it easiest. As of right now i have the oil drained, coolant system drained, radiator hoses off, wiring harness unhooked, ground wires unkooked, drive belt off, and some other odds and ends disconnected. I have not done anything to the power steering or ac compressor yet. And do i need to pull the tranny with the motor? Im going to go with a used motor back in the car because ive found its cheaper than me rebuilding it myself. I have found 2 low mileage engines for $1500 with less than 30k. Any information or helpful tips anyone has is greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot:)

Dustin

·
Banned
11,614 Posts
find a used 4v out of a cobra or mach, and usually people pull them both at the same time. IF you plan on doing long tubes nows the time to do it

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)