Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
659 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I just bought my 92 gt and it has swirl marks and behind the side window the paint is cracking a little bit and also around the passenger side lock. With that said im looking into some products to get the swirl marks out and restore the finish the best i can. I have looked on autogeek and the stickies and im still stumped on what products would best suit my needs. I like the price of XMT and poorboys and was wondering if there is better stuff to use on this aged paint. These are the steps i am thinking of doing.

1. wash with dawn
2. clay bar
3. polish with orange PC/hand
4. wax with gray/white pad??

With those steps ive also read that you can put a sealer after you polish and I also didnt know when to apply a glaze and if its even worth my time right now to try it. Thanks.

·
Registered
902 Posts
Yep check the stickies, im new to detailing but i do know dawn is a no-no, wash with a car wash and not dish soap, sorry thats all i can help though, I'm sure our detailers will be in here soon, btw nice ride!

·
Registered
659 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i have read stickies, everyone uses diff stuff for there specific needs. Also i heard that dawn will take off the old wax and then clay bar will take out the rest of the impurities.

·
Registered
5,175 Posts