Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody I am new to the street car scene. I am looking to trade my current ride in for something new. I currently drive a 2010 crew cab cummins that has dynoed 707hp 1611 ftlbs of tq with the water/meth off. I enjoy going fast! And the new mustang body style has really caught my eye. I am wanting around 600-650 hp daily driver. I love the 2013 Shelby GT500 but it is most likely out of my price range. Please help me determine if its a better idea to buy a new GT or new Boss 302 and mod to reach my HP goals? is the boss 302 actually worth the money or just buy a GT 5.0 and add mods? And which drivetrain will hold the power better auto or manual with upgraded clutch? Thanks for any input

·
aloha ke akua
13,177 Posts
A boss will have the immediate suspension needs to carry the car into 600hp range and support it well. If you want power first, then go with a GT. they have over 400 at the crank stock and the boss 302's have a few more i think but nothing much. Look at the price difference and think to yourself: " can this amount of money build me a good enough suspension on a gt for cheaper then the extra costs on the boss?" And "do i want to pay that extra for the name and styling of the boss?" Let questions like that determine your choice. Of course, though, the boss will be the choice for immediate power addage, but there are many reasons to build a gt!

·
aloha ke akua
13,177 Posts
I'm sure you'll get plenty of other help and opinions, though! Congrats on the new future ride!

·
Registered
538 Posts
Get a new gt throw a tvs blower on and upgrade the suspension youself.. end of story

·
Registered
5,066 Posts