Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Resident Ford Rep
631 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked this up on black friday from a friend for a good price..
However, I yelled at him for not taking better care of it. 07 gt with 50,000 miles. I told myself I'd never own a black car :banghead haha. But I decided to give this one some TLC. I've been detailing yachts for the last 3 years and cars for 6. I've never done black..

I made sure I gave it a thorough wash and spent extra time with a clay bar to help prevent any further scratches. Here's some before and after. A friend helped me on day 2. So far there's a total of 10 hours in it. I'm parking it for winter now and will re-visit the paint come spring time with some better products but this works for now.

Products/steps include. Hand wash with Turtle wax ICE. Clay bar with Mother's kit. 3m compound with an orbital and microfiber bonnet. Finished it with Steps 1 and 2 from the Turtle wax Black Box kit. By the way, very impressed with the Box kit. Really deepened the black up and gave it a nice gloss. I want to try some online stuff next year. Griot's garage and the like. Let me know your opinions and experiences. Thanks
Kyle

Before

After

Before:

After:

Hood after

Close up

Bumper before

Bumper after:

Rear quarter before:

Rear quarter after:

Rear after:

Top after:

Overall shine

·
Registered
323 Posts
great job, yes black is a hell of a color to keep clean! i had a black maxima for a while and as soon as its clean, **** piles up on it!

keep up the good work man

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
Turtle Wax :facepalm: Looks alot better, but when you have black a polish is a must after compounding. Menz po85rd will do wonders. As for a wax for black, so many choices. Whats your budget? We will point you in the right direction.

·
RIP Dennis
76,434 Posts
Not bad but I bet after searching around here you will be amazed at how much you can improve it...