Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, alright so I have a 2006 GT with a shaker 500 system. I want a nice sub for my car, and a new head unit. Idk if I want to replace the speakers/add tweeters or not yet. Mine are pretty good.
Also, idk if I want to get two subs or just this one, haha. I don't wanna spend TOO much. And with two subs, come two amps too, right? I'm still new to this. :p
Anyway, what i'm getting;
HU - Pioneer AVH-P1400DVD 5.8" DVD/USB Car Stereo Receiver w/ Pandora
Sub - JL Audio 10W3v3-2 (10W3v32) 10" Single 2 ohm W3v3 Car Subwoofer
Box - Single 10" Sealed Car Subwoofer 3/4" MDF Enclosure/Box 0.77 Cu Ft
Amp - Rockford Fosgate R500-1 (r5001) 500W Max PRIME Series Monoblock
All opinions/tips/suggestions is highly appreciated! Thanks!

·
Premium Member
11,663 Posts
Should do nicely. I would stick with the single sub. The W3s are a hell of a speaker. If you need more, you can always add it later.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I have a couple of suggestions for you. That amp is not powerful enough for that sub. 500W max on the amp and 500rms sub, you should consider a stronger amp and to be honest the amp is the most crucial part of the this setup, clean and strong power is the most important part; the amp is the real sound maker, the sub is just a vibrating tool for the amp. I usually spend more on an amp than I do a sub. Great sub choice though for entry-mid level though!

No you do not have to run 2 amps for 2 subs. You just pay attention to how you wire them; series vs parallel, so plan it out ahead of time. Dual voicecoil subs can help you get the resistance and power setup you want easier with 2 subs. Also they seem to be able to handle power better when comparing similar subs.