Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I am new to the world of the Ford Mustang. I am making the switch from GM to Ford! I used to drive a 97 grand prix gtp but now that she is gone I'm making the move to a mustang gt. I plan on buying a 97 or 98 mustang gt from a dealership and plan on going for the coup with a 5spd. I was just wondering what kind of mods,tweaks or improvements to do to this car to get the HP up to the gtp level or beyond. Im looking for a good DD but something with a good amount of power when i need it. I don't know alot about these engines or these cars I am doing research but i would like personal opinions as well. Your help and advice is greatly appreciated!!:D

·
Not a Rational Car Guy
38,186 Posts
:welcome

I think you'll enjoy the switch ;)

·
Registered
2,365 Posts
get a 99+ they have better heads, intake, and cams so you have a better platform to start with

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I know that but i like the body style and the car is cheap($3500) and in great condtion with 80000 miles and a new clutch i cant find a better deal down here im looking to get around 260 dependable RWHP i dont need to kill myself and she wont be seeing the strip alot

·
Registered
437 Posts
you can do a PI swap for a few hundred, (PI swap= power improvement. its where you take the heads, cams, and intake manifold from the 99-04 GT's and put it on your engine.) that will be good for around 230-240is rwhp. if you need more then you can get a nice set of cams and that should bring you up to around 270-280+ or so. oh, and welcome! :D

·
Registered
923 Posts
And it shouldn't be hard to match that 97 gtp, it's only a supercharged 3.8L v6

·
Registered
525 Posts
pi swap it or find one already swapped. you could also put some 4.10s in the rear that will improve the pickup

oh and welcome to mm

·
Rollin' 18/ pushin' 2
8,333 Posts