Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A little long but bear with me, okay?

First off, the car is my son's - he bought someone else's headache, and I'm trying to sort it out. '91 5.0?
Me? Not much of a Mustang man at all (mostly SB Chevy man), but I am a mechanic - diesel certified, licensed A&P, and have previously owned and kept running two EEC-IV Tempo's.

Here's what's in it so far:
'97 Mountaineer short block from salvage (8.8:1 comp, best I can find out)
Windsor Jr. heads
Ford Racing E303 cam shaft
JEG's rockers (not sure of ratio)
Trick Flow upper (75mm), spacer, and lower intake.
BBK/Edelbrock throttle body (65mm)
BBK CAK (75mm?)
EGR blocked
EVP locked to "full closed signal"
24lb/hr injectors
Fuel Pressure 40psi
Ford Racing shorty headers, HEGO's operational
Crappy H-pipe exhaust w/out CAT/CON's
T5? Trans (no VSS)

Okay, by now, you've probably started guessing some of the problems :eek:
Crappy idle, dies on decel, running rich, backfring through exhausts, "Bad" TFI/SPOUT symptoms.

(Don't ask me why the boy wasted $5,500 on this...I'm just wanting my Sonoma back!)

Anyway, what we've done so far:
1. Set valve lash correctly.
2. Removed, stripped, repaired, continuity ck'd, Ohm'd out, shot for shorts/grounds the ENTIRE EEC and injector harness (had them laid out in the living room floor).
3. Repaired any/all possible vacuum leaks to be found.
4. Replaced pos/neg battery cables, eng/body ground, battery/body ground, EEC/body ground (grounds replaced with aircraft grade bondings).
5. Removed, disassembled & cleaned IAC valve, EGR body, & throttle body (Lord were they cruddy).
6. Cleaned MAF sensor.
7. Reassembled/reinstalled all, cleared all stored codes, test ran, setting idle regulated fuel pressure to 40psi w/vacuum reconnected to regulator, and base spark advance to 14*BTDC.

Pulled new codes:
31 - EVP Ckt Below Min Volts
84 - EGR Valve Reg Ckt Failure
85 - Canister Purge Ckt Failure