Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok well first off, I just bought my FIRST mustang yesterday! its an 2004 40th anniversary edition v8! So i'm very new to these cars so pardon me if my inexperience shows through! :D

I've tried searching for this problem on the forums and really didn't get a good answer so i'll just ask.

The low beams and parking lights work, i try to turn on the high beams and nothing! Flashing them doesn't work either and nor do i get the blue high beam light in the console when i attempt either. I replaced the bulbs and that didn't fix it. It doesnt have an owners manual i tried looking at a fuse diagram on the internet but it doesn't say anything about high beams in the descriptions. what fuse number should i be looking for specifically? If its not the fuse though, what are some other solutions?

Thanks in advance! :cool:

·
Registered
157 Posts
I'm not familiar with the electronics on that particular vehicle, but I assume there is a relay to control the highbeams in the fusebox. That is the first thing I would check and it can be checked easily if there is another relay under the hood with the same part number that you know is good, (fuel pump, horn maybe?) Then you can swap them and see if your highbeams work.

P.S.
Welcome to MM

·
Registered
5,610 Posts
and there is a fuse under the hood but its only for both the headlamps,you shouldnt have to replace that one since you low beams are working

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Lol ok, well the fuse was blown, replaced it. I can flash the high beams now but when i switch to the high beams they still won't come on. Pretty crazy!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Are you pulling the switch towards you or away from you? You have to push it away from you to get them to stay on. When I bought my stang it took me like 2 days to figure that out.

·
Registered
2,936 Posts
You can download the Owner's Manual from Ford, click here.