Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just picked my car up after a complete rebuild every thing is brand new in the car including the t3650 trans. with the ford shift improvement kit in it (up graded from t 45) the car runs amazing, but whenever the clutch pedal is not depressed, the t/o bearing rattles its but off, i am by no means an expert on this crap, but is this a serious problem that i need to notify my engine builder about or just a simple aggervation i need to stop complaining about, the car is a 2000 gt, and mods include forged stroker short block with 11 to 1 compression, patriot stage 2 heads, crower stage 2 cam mezier electric water pump accufab tb and plenum fidanza f/w centerforce dual friction clutch and t/o bearing the above mentioned trans. kooks l/t headers bassani exhaust and frpp 373 gears, and i think that about does it, any advice would be great

·
Registered
1,933 Posts
Mine is like that too..but i havent had any work done to the tranny and i would be pretty pissed if i dumped some money into a rebuild and had a noisy t/o bearing, esp if it ticks lik mine its so embarssing.

·
Registered
193 Posts
the to bearing shouldn't make any noise, especially after putting in a new trans - and new to bearing i'm guessing??

if you can deal with the noise you can drive around with it chirping/squealing for a while. but eventually you need to pull the trans and put in a new one. don't wait too long or you may end up breaking the to bearing retainer.

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
i just had mine done with the whole clutch kit. it did make a horrible sound. real scratchy. almost like a rattling heat shield or something. couldnt put up with that at all!

·
Registered
193 Posts
a heavy duty throwout bearing is around 35 bucks. a throw out bearing retainer (shaft the throw out bearing rides on) is 40ish ?? dollars.