Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the question is, is an oil change before winter storage actually necessary? Or is it another "recommended" thing to do by the oil companys as a way to sell more oil? The reason I ask, I run Mobil 1 with the mobil 1 filter and I have about 2000 on my current change. The car will probably be ready to go to winter storage next weekend and I hate to dump perfectly good oil down the drain for no good reason. I'm wondering if I really need to do it, or if its another gimmick by the oil companys to sell oil. For those that say I do need to do it, do you have a reason why?

·
Registered
535 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think the oil seems fresh enough to last the winter. Especially if you're storing it inside.

·
Registered
177 Posts
I left the mobil 1 in last winter,car still runs.
But I had always heard the same thing about old oil and corroding of the seals.
I don't know if it's true but I did find an awful lot of information about it after a search. One person says yes another says no:spankit
I changed it this year though.
And everybody with a boat does the same thing too, Including me.:2cents

·
Administrator
83,767 Posts
+1^ you pay 30k for a car, the least you can do is give it a 40 dollar oil change before letting it sit.

I'm a paranoid mothertrucker, and I don't consider this car as my DD, even though I use it as such. I certainly baby it, because I figure if I drive the piss out of it, the least I can do is go the extra mile.

So yes, I change my oil (and I run Mobil 1 as well) before storing it. Even if it only has 1000 miles on it.

Take care of your ride and it will take care of you.

·
Registered
527 Posts
some guy told me once that when you do your oil change before storage that you should put in some extra oil (like a bit more then what it would normally take) ....is this even true??

·
MM's resident Juice head
7,913 Posts