Modded Mustang Forums banner

21 - 38 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,972 Posts
I'm using my SCT X4 to scan for codes, and it only shows P1000. I don't know why my tuner would turn off a bunch of sensors when he knows I have to pass emissions, but I will ask him about it if I can't get P1000 to clear tomorrow.
Xcal doesnt show emission monitors.
 

·
Turbo > blower
Joined
·
13,867 Posts
I can get rid of a p1000 in 5 minutes. I don't even have to drive my car. That being said with most tunes it needs several heat cycles, and he hasn't done that, and his code hasn't gone away.

Even Ray Charles can see what the **** is going on here.

---------- Post added at 05:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

If it weren't the case, why the **** would this be in the drive cycle prescribed by ford?

Evap Monitor "Bypass" 14. Park vehicle for a minimum of 8 hours. Repeat steps 2 through 12. DO NOT REPEAT STEP 1. Allow the "bypass" counter to increment to two.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,719 Posts
you can set all monitors on any make car on less than 1 heat cycle if proper procedure is followed, we have our own emission station at work(yes tied into state system) and have many different veh, in our fleet(city) follow that procedure I posted exactly and it works every time as long as obd stuff is on in tune and car can pass them, don't need no hokey pokey manipulation(except if you have a large cam you might have to raise the misfire threshold) not likely thou as car is not idling long enough to set the p0300

some modified cars may need a modified stock tune(so you can safely drive a boosted car) loaded for a short time(just for a pass)

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:17 PM ----------

I can get rid of a p1000 in 5 minutes. I don't even have to drive my car. That being said with most tunes it needs several heat cycles, and he hasn't done that, and his code hasn't gone away.

Even Ray Charles can see what the **** is going on here.

---------- Post added at 05:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

If it weren't the case, why the **** would this be in the drive cycle prescribed by ford?

read it.... only if it does not clear from the first time!! I never had to, you have to follow the procedure exactly, I watch a scanner to know when the evap monitor is running and run steady 60 mph for 10 mins and you can actually see the p1000 disappear
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #28
I have been dealing with this code since October, but I never tried to clear or reset the code until today by disconnecting the battery. I could only drive the car about once a week this year because of work. I'm guessing that's why P1000 came up, I just didn't drive it enough. Now I have until Friday before the tag expires. I'm going to email my tuner and hopefully he'll reply sometime tomorrow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,719 Posts
The ford ECUs will not set in one drive cycle if IATs are below 40 because it cannot correctly test the evap system. <40 degree temperatures are not unheard of in mid ****ing December.
I have more issues with the under 100* in my personal car, but I have a KB and the iat sensor is in the manifold
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,972 Posts
How many heat cycles did it go through with that 180 miles?
It stayed hot the whole time. I would only turn it off to scan for codes.

Xcal doesnt show emission monitors.
It told me when my o2 sensor went bad.
It doesnt show you the status of your monitors. You can drive around forever with an egr, evap, or catalyst that doesnt ready and it will never throw a code. P1000 will remain. The monitor will stay in not ready status. I had a leak in my evap hose off the gas tank and a deleted egr. All emission stuff was set to stock in the tune. Never threw a code with over 800 miles of driving.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,972 Posts
you deleted the egr with no codes and it was not off in tune? the egr codes was the hardest one for me to pass, my car runs like **** with the egr on so it is shutoff in my everyday tune, the only reason I have a separate tune for emissions
Egr was deleted since 07 when i put the longtubes on and it was turned off in the tune. In 2014 emission laws changed saying that all factory emission components need to be ready except for one monitor can be not ready. Everything was turned back on in the tune but my egr and catalyst never changed to ready. I had to get a race car exemption cause it wouldnt pass the emission test. It never threw a code during this time. Finally after a year of testing on other cars and trying all kinds of tricks my tuner found out that the catalyst will never turn to ready if the egr isnt hooked up. By this time i bought a Mach and started demodding the GT. Returned the GT to stock with the stock tune and hooked up the egr. All monitors set within 50 miles which was 3 days of driving for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #33
Good news! My tuner is going to send me an emissions friendly tune sometime this afternoon. Now I'm having a hard time getting my X4 hooked up to my PC. I downloaded the updater off a the SCT website, but when I try to use the program, it just says "can't find device" Does anyone know how to fix this?

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:31 PM ----------

I got it figured out, I had to update the driver for the X4.

If anyone else has an issue with getting the handheld to communicate with windows 10, this is what I did to fix it.
https://support.bamaperformance.com/hc/en-us/articles/201379369-I-have-Windows-7-8-1-10-and-I-am-having-a-driver-error-or-my-computer-wont-recognize-my-device
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,719 Posts
Good news! My tuner is going to send me an emissions friendly tune sometime this afternoon. Now I'm having a hard time getting my X4 hooked up to my PC. I downloaded the updater off a the SCT website, but when I try to use the program, it just says "can't find device" Does anyone know how to fix this?

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:31 PM ----------

I got it figured out, I had to update the driver for the X4.

If anyone else has an issue with getting the handheld to communicate with windows 10, this is what I did to fix it.
https://support.bamaperformance.com/hc/en-us/articles/201379369-I-have-Windows-7-8-1-10-and-I-am-having-a-driver-error-or-my-computer-wont-recognize-my-device
just reload your present tune back in car after you pass test
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #35
just reload your present tune back in car after you pass test
That's what I'm going to do, and I'm going to get an o/r x-pipe to put on after emissions, but I'll have to keep my catted x-pipe to use for emissions next year. Hopefully this will be the last time I ever have to do emissions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,719 Posts
That's what I'm going to do, and I'm going to get an o/r x-pipe to put on after emissions, but I'll have to keep my catted x-pipe to use for emissions next year. Hopefully this will be the last time I ever have to do emissions.
I actually welded in hi flow cats in my mac h pipe and lost no power(dyno). plus I toned down the rasp and no more strong gas smell. keep the catted x pipe (if aftermarket)imho, save the money/hassle
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,972 Posts
just reload your present tune back in car after you pass test
That's what I'm going to do, and I'm going to get an o/r x-pipe to put on after emissions, but I'll have to keep my catted x-pipe to use for emissions next year. Hopefully this will be the last time I ever have to do emissions.
Do they do visuals? If not get double stacked spark plug nonfoulers and youll pass.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #38
I actually welded in hi flow cats in my mac h pipe and lost no power(dyno). plus I toned down the rasp and no more strong gas smell. keep the catted x pipe (if aftermarket)imho, save the money/hassle
I'm not doing it for power, but I would like it to be a little louder.
 
21 - 38 of 38 Posts
Top