Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So pretty soon I am going to be putting a GT takeoff front and rear sway bar on my V6. I was wondering if I should get the poly bushings for the sway bars? I also heard the shifter poly bushings helped too. Looking for any opinions on if these help anything

·
Premium Member
2,153 Posts
I think I heard that poly bushings are too stiff for a street set-up. But I am not too sure, so wait for others to chime in.

·
Premium Member
2,153 Posts
So pretty soon I am going to be putting a GT takeoff front and rear sway bar on my V6. I was wondering if I should get the poly bushings for the sway bars? I also heard the shifter poly bushings helped too. Looking for any opinions on if these help anything
Are you still going to just lower the back with Roush springs or do you undertand why its a bad idea now?

·
Registered
14 Posts
I have no experience with the mustang yet. I just purchased my a few months ago.
But am also planning on changing out the rubbers for polys in lots of locations.

I have done this to my previous cars (2006 eclipse, and 2003 eclipse) and loved the outcome. Better control, less slop, overall just a tighter handling car. But I also did more than just swaybar bushings; Control arms, shifter, motor mounts.
I say polys are good.

·
Registered
3,826 Posts
i have polyurethane bushings in my adj. upper control arm, adj. panhard rod and billet aluminum lower control arms. They are much stronger than stock and they transfer very little noise to the cabin. I don't notice them being any stiffer, but I also have tokico d specs that are on setting a little stiffer than stock

EDIT: you just have to remember to grease the bushings every oil change and make sure you AVOID all greases that have petroleum. They will destroy the bushings

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·