Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm relatively new to modding cars, my s197 gt is really the only car i've personally own and free to mod. anyways, ive been searching the site, didnt want to double post, but couldnt find anything. my question is would ported heads from livernois or frpp and lets say frpp high lift cams or BBR stage 2 cams pass emissions in california anyone know? does it even apply to emissions? sorry still relatively new to modding, i just drive the **** out of the stang. trying to keep my s197 NA and street legal for now.

btw-no major perf mods, left dealership with just a roush axleback
planning on steeda ultimate power pack since its carb approved with cai, tuner, udp, delete plates, etc.

·
Registered
2,698 Posts
really the heads and cams would affect emissions in cali? I dont think you can get frpp high lift cams for your car. those are for previous generation stangs, wont work with VCT. Ford has just came out with the hot rod cam for our car but that has even hit the dealers yet.

welcome to the forum and modding by the way.

In Cali, it seems anything they do to a car will effect their emissions testing lol.

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
how would the cam and heads affect the emissions standards? would they even know if you changed them? besides the rough idle.
there's the NSR cam, or comp cam stage 3 from brenspeed.

·
Registered
2,698 Posts
how would the cam and heads affect the emissions standards? would they even know if you changed them? besides the rough idle.
there's the NSR cam, or comp cam stage 3 from brenspeed.

Well considering how strict they are, it wouldn't suprise me if the car wouldn't pass. They just seem to go to far with their emissions checks.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #9