Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

Recently my rear end has started to fail in my 95 mustang 3.8. What I would like to know is how I can upgrade to some 3.73s? Im looking for something out of a junkyard. What rear ends will fit my car? I have heard that the 1990+ 4x4 rangers M/T have 3.73 gears and a 7.5 rear end. My mustang had a 7.5 as well but the gears would be 2.72 or something like that, Idk.

Does anyone know if the ranger information is true? Or know of any other options for my stang? Im down with replacing the gears only, or the entire rear end assembly. I really just want 3.73 on a budget.

By the way my 95 stang has a t-5 WC transmission. What are your opinions on the gears? Will I notice a considerable difference in low end acceleration by jumping to 3.73s?

This is my first time on this forum but I like what I see so far!

·
V6 BIOTCH
6,945 Posts
Where do you live?

I have my old 7.5 i would sell cheap, and I know a guy locally that would install whatever you want cheap.

Your rear is 2.73s. That rear is the stock 3.27. It needs repairs so id say get new internals for it. You will want to go with a tlok, trust me.

I noticed a huge difference between 3.27-3.73s I know moving that high up would be insane for you !! you'd be very happy with that !!! But for simplicity, I would find a 7.5 or an 8.8 out of a 94-98 mustang. 8.8 is a direct swap w/ a tlok already in it. Or should be, 99-04 it is.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im in TN, looking for some 3.73s for sure though, I really just don't know what cars I can snatch an entire rear end assembly out of at the salvage yard that will have 3.73s and bolt right up to my car. I want to be able to use my original brake calipers and all that mess.

·
V6 BIOTCH
6,945 Posts
darn ok, well id look into the same body style mustang. If the 8.8 is like the 99-04, either a 7.5 or an 8.8 from a GT will work from a 94-98