Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I did a search with no luck. I'm new to the Mustang world and I am doing a V8 swap in my V6 Mustang (can't tell what V8:p) and need to know what vehicles will work as donors. I know the GT and have heard the Explorer but don't know the specifics of the Explorer. Any help? How about the Ranger and F150? I will be putting out 450whp to begin with. This will NOT be a DD but will need to be reliable!

·
!FACEPLATED!
15,305 Posts
the only housing that will swap will be from another mustang. f150s and rangers will not bolt in. they have leaf spring suspenisons and have spring perches unlike the control arm mounts.

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the only housing that will swap will be from another mustang. f150s and rangers will not bolt in. they have leaf spring suspenisons and have spring perches unlike the control arm mounts.
How about the Explorer?, are they coil spring suspensions?

·
Registered
2,782 Posts
Check your local CL and junk yards. You can find them for cheap

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Check your local CL and junk yards. You can find them for cheap
Thanks for the help. I guess I'll have to start keeping my eye on CL. Will an 8.8" from a '79-93 work? I've heard they have a different track width than the 99-04's, but could this be advantageous to running much wider tires?

·
!FACEPLATED!
15,305 Posts
I believe the housing are the same, its just the axles are different lengths due to drum/disc brake differences. I could be wrong tho, someone else can chime in on that

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I believe the housing are the same, its just the axles are different lengths due to drum/disc brake differences. I could be wrong tho, someone else can chime in on that