Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
I'm very fond of my harbor freight click-style torque wrench, and it was like $20 or so on sale.

The craftsman units are NOT worth the price. They are no better than the HF. If the HF isn't good enough for you, you need to step up to a Mac, SnapOn, MatCo, or the like.

·
IBEATU
5,919 Posts
Matco is the only tool I buy. I'm a tech though, so I use my tools alot. If its a 1 time thing for you, see if a buddy has one you can borrow. If you want to buy one for less money. Then check out both brands that Reverend mentioned

·
Registered
3,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Registered
489 Posts
yeah i already have a 1/4" that measures pounds per inch...i just want my big boy to be a good one.
The bigger one you linkd to earlier, isn't its tolerance too lose for torquing the main cam bearing caps?

·
Registered
137 Posts
Yeah, I used a HF one on my shocks, and snapped a bolt off cause the damn wrench was broke. It was right at the point that I said out loud... "Hmm this is a lot for 26lbs, then POP!!!!" Torque on small things isn't something to fool with. I won't buy a HF when it comes to something important anymore... :/

Oh yeah, and it looked exactly like the wrench's posted for HF.

·
Registered
28 Posts
i've used the HF one for a couple of year and like it. Just if you're doing low torque you have to be careful as sometimes it's hard to feel it click. I'm glad i went that route as i don't use it all that much, but i've put together a couple of engines with it and had no problems

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
Craftsman ones are decent
:no

They used to be. Back when they still offered a lifetime warranty on them. Nowadays that's just not true. Craftsman quality has gone WAY down, and they're resting on their name.

But, if you want to spend five times as much money for the same quality just so you can have the name, I won't stop you.

·
Your Mom's Favorite
2,452 Posts