Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So right now i know enough about the stang to get me by, but i want to step it up a notch and slowly build my own engine.

I found an aluminum 4.6L SOHC block on craigslist, comes with speed pro pistons and its been bored out and machined to a unknown measurement. It also comes with "polished cams" & w/ matching gaskets.

Anyways judging off these pictures to have a complete block id just be looking at buying:

-crankshaft
-Heads (any mustang heads will work right? I was thinking 4v)
-Intake manifold
-new lightweight flywheel
-oil pan

What other major components am i forgetting? I think most the accessories i could probably get of a donor...Be easy on me, i have some engine experience but id like to get some more information of what i should expect to buy and how much a complete engine build will roughly cost? Is it cheaper to just buy a complete engine? Ideally id be building for some extra power :)

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
he claims its from a mustang, so im assuming its a machined block from a cobra or a mach 1.

What do you mean it wont hold to much power? If i were to do this im shooting for anywhere in the 300-500hp zone. Id probably supercharge it too.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
he claims its from a mustang, so im assuming its a machined block from a cobra or a mach 1.

What do you mean it wont hold to much power? If i were to do this im shooting for anywhere in the 300-500hp zone. Id probably supercharge it too.
:eek: I don't believe it is entirely worth it then. If you are looking for lots of power a 2v SOHC (if not from a cobra) is not necessarily the right road. Although don't get me wrong it is possible. A bunch of members here have accomplished it.

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
I know you weren't, I just thought that most people knew the Explorer engines were aluminum blocks. Yes, they are WAP blocks.

·
BYAHHHH!
18,672 Posts