Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

So I'm very new to stangs, and my new-to-me '02 GT was giving me fits this morning when I tried to go into reverse. :mad:

It only happened at one stop this morning (autozone parking lot of course),,and when I cruised to the end of the lot, and went for reverse - nothing,,,locked out.

I believe I have the 3650 in my ride.
I ALWAYS go into 1st, then immediately into Reverse - when I want to reverse. I tried every trick I could think of,,,giving it a little gas,,letting the clutch out a tad (sometimes in my other ford's the shifter would then drop into reverse),,going through all the gears,,etc. I could not get into Reverse!

I was royally upset, and accidently stalled the car being in 3rd,,thinking it was 1st (i know i know..) while I stuck my head out the door to listen. So after shamefully restarting my ride, it went into Reverse no problem. Didn't really give me any issues the rest of the day (so far)

What causes this? I plan on running some fresh penzoil synchromesh through it when I find some. I'm hoping that will cure it.

All I can say is this trans is super notchy! Will fresh lube/oil help with that too? I've been reading good things about the mgw shifter, and it helping with the notchyness,,true?

Thanks

·
Registered
343 Posts
next time try pulling forward a bit. the tranny was probably in a bind. its the pull forward in third that fixed it for you this time :D

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks - but i did try that as well,,,,in first gear, with no luck. Maybe I didn't pull forward enough I guess,,and the 'bump' from dying in 3rd did it. It was very odd, and I'm pretty sure I pulled forward a foot or more when I tried it in 1st.

meh,,,decided to let my mech do the oil change today (I don't have a lift or ramps handy), plus I think he could use the work.