Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so when I start my car up it makes a whinning noise :bash: , then when I drive off it then will whine at 30mph and35mph and so on and so forth..:facepalm:

A mechanic that I trust told me that it was for sure a throw out bearing but what I need to know is if I can do this job myself or is it crazy? I know how work on my engine but I have very little experience with tranny stuff soo any opinions on whether I should do It myself or not would be much appreciated , also whAt tools woould i need thanks a ton.

-DBC

·
MM's V6 Hater
13,422 Posts
Does the sound go away when you push the clutch in?

TOB is pretty easy to change. Should replaced the pivot stud,PB and fork while your in there. only use ford bearings.

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
you'd need some extensions, metric sockets, ratchet, pry bar maybe, patience. you have to take the transmission out to replace the throwout bearing. that means pulling the exhaust off as well.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No the sound still happens whether the clutch is pushed in or not , dang if I'm gonna take the stock exhaust off might as well wait till I have enough cash and get pypes or something aftermarket.

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

·
Banned
1,232 Posts
No the sound still happens whether the clutch is pushed in or not , dang if I'm gonna take the stock exhaust off might as well wait till I have enough cash and get pypes or something aftermarket.

it bolts up, not exactly hard to remove. (usually)

·
Registered
4,311 Posts
Correctly me if I am wrong guys, but if it is still there wether he releases the clutch or not, it's not the throw out bearing is it?

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
i wouldn't think the TOB would be the suspect if it did it while he had released the clutch, unless it's still spinning for some reason.

pilot bearing maybe?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #9

·
Registered