Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well it's obvious my m/t streets were never meant for a manual trans so I'm gonna go with a slick but should I go 26 or 28? The m/t r are 235/60/15 and they just can't handle the torque. I'm a drop and go driver so I need a slick that canhandle it. I've got a 7 inch rim I wanna use any suggestions on size and manufacturer that you guys use. Thanks

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys 26 it is im not making much HP but with the 410s i get lots of wheel spin and its killing me.just didnt want to go to small and have same issue but with a slick im reading that its gonna take the shock of the torque off the line

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
It sounds like you need to do some suspension work. There's no reason why you need a full slick. There's guys going 1.30 60ft times on 275 M/T ET Street drag radials. I have 4.30's and can hook on Nitto 555R's as long as the track is prepped.

Tires may not be your solution.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It sounds like you need to do some suspension work. There's no reason why you need a full slick. There's guys going 1.30 60ft times on 275 M/T ET Street drag radials. I have 4.30's and can hook on Nitto 555R's as long as the track is prepped.

Tires may not be your solution.
i was reading on mickey's web site that the et street radial are not recommended for manual trans. i probably could use some suspension work. i have LCA's i dont know i just cant seem to hook i have played with my 2 step trying to find that sweet spot but still having traction issues. so do you think slicks would be over kill. your running a lot taller tire than i am. Maybe i should a little taller also

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
What are your mods? I've ran 8.74 on street tires and 8.54 on dirt track tires(poor man's dr's). That was n/a and stock gears. You need more suspension.

·
Registered
2,599 Posts