Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a very strange shuttering/vibraton to where the entire cars kind of shimmies and shakes at about 25, 35, and 55 mph. Its definitely NOT the wheels and tires because I just replaced the factory ones with brand new mounted and balanced wheels/tires.

Its driving me nuts, and I need to fix it asap. Could it be driveshaft? If so, is it u-joints or does the factory driveshaft need to be rebalanced and or replaced with an aluminum unit?

I have no experience with driveshafts and dont really understand the entirety of them. All I know is that I want this issue to be resolved. The car is complety factory aside from the modifications in my signature.

PLEASE HELP!

·
Head Unicorn
5,085 Posts
Sounds like you are describing a COP or plug failure. I don't drive my Mustang enough to tell you much about it but my DD Crown Vic sports the same motor and when a COP, COP boot or plug fails it shutters like it's about to fall apart. Replace the problem COP, COP boot or plug and back to new again.

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When I say shutter, I mean its a vibration that I can feel in the seat of my pants...not the steering wheel. And it's only at certain speeds.

·
Registered
5,844 Posts
Check how tight the bolts are where the drive shaft connects to the rear differential.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Could be any number of things. When I got my car I had the same kind of issue and it turned out to be a sticking front brake caliper. I also wouldn't rule out the wheels/tires, those guys make mistakes and that could be your problem, did your problem just start after replacing the tires?

·
Registered
380 Posts
Not to jack the thread, but my car vibrates when I first start it up after being shut off (even when it's warm), at like 1,600 rpms. It also does it at like 3,200 rpm as well. Once I drive for a minute, it won't vibrate anymore. It's weird.

·
Premium Member