Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the world of Mustangs and am hopefully about to start a build. I am not new to working on cars, I just have never had a Mustang. I decided to build one finally after years of wishing I had a fox coupe. I am about to purchase an 89 Lx coupe, originally a 4 cylinder automatic. The car is a rolling chassis. A shop owner I met through work has had many of these body style cars. He actually prefers the Mercury Capris. Anyway, he can order me one of the complete GT40P motors for a crazy good deal, and I have already found a t-5 at another good deal. I am aware of all the mechanical type things I will need to switch over and do, but I am unaware of some of the electrical related things. Which ECU will I need to run the motor? Engine Wiring Harness? I would prefer to retain the fuel injection, all though I have been told that carb is much easier. Keep in mind this is not a project that I need to have done in a month or anything and it is also not a daily driver. That being said I do not have an unlimited budget, so I won't be doing anything too crazy!
Thanks in advance!

·
Free Mouth Hugs
9,037 Posts
Welcome to MM, Find a donor v8 car?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to MM, Find a donor v8 car?
This I have thought would make it easiest. So the ECU in the v8 Lx or GT will run that motor? I figured some of the fuel maps would be different? I have alot of background on imports, mainly Hondas, so if I am saying something that is completely stupid with respect to Mustangs, please inform me!

·
Banned
3,385 Posts
a9l is the mass air 5 speed computer found in 89-93 v8 5sp mustangs and are very common and easy to find. Normal price used range from $80 to $120 but mostly $100 on Web Page Re-director classifieds.