Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
M112'd Sixxer
1,703 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a chance to get a T5 from a 94/5 sixxer. Im aware that this year has a mechanical speedo, whereas my car has an electronic speedo. Got a few questions since I have ZERO T5 knowledge. Google also isnt telling me much, only about electronic to manual conversion.

1. Can I just change the tailshaft from the 94/5 T5 with one from 99+(or whenever they switched to electronic speedo), add the reluctor(sp?) ring and sensor and be done?

2. Trans Cross member *should* bolt up with no hassle? Pedals, clutch cable, bellhousing, yoke etc should all bolt in with little issue.

3. Since I should have in the neighborhood of 300rwhp, Stage 2 clutch? Maybe 3? Brand? Also, I know this is personal opinion, whats the best shifter?

4. Ill be going through the trans before install, replacing bearings and what not(car was submerged, upside down in a pond), anything else I should change while Im in there?

·
Registered
3,214 Posts
Stage 3 clutch is over 500hp. Remember you want your clutch to be your weak link not the trans

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

·
M112'd Sixxer
1,703 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
3500 stall
Built 4r70w
Shift kit
Trans brake
Lots of cooling
Win

:D

And yes 94/95 are mechanical ...
This has also ran through my head. But since i would want to road race, would a 3500 stall be good thing?

Was also planning to j mod my 4r70w and get a trans oil cooler. The tunnel gets pretty warm with no carpet.

Sent from my droid using my fingers.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
I would suggest a ram HDX clutch. Thats what I had before I got a 26 spline input shaft and it worked out well. If youre not dropping the clutch while drag racing I think you will probably be fine with whatever clutch you get.