Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 2000 mustang gt .I plan on dropping a custom built 04 cobra engine in it .what would I need to do to get it clone ?I'm new at this by the way I'm going to be purchasing a mmr short block 4.6 600 HP modular block

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Why do you need a MMR600 shortblock if your dropping a 04 Cobra motor in it? The cobra shortblock is stronger then the MMR600.

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
our cars have the same exactly block as the cobra. The cobra's internals are stronger then the MMR600 is. If you were dropping in a cobra motor, but wanted beefier internals, Id get the MMR 900 or higher rotating assembly.

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Minus the crank since the cobra's are forged

·
Registered
890 Posts
A termi engine is good as it comes. Unless it's messes up from the inside. Then I recomend a new rotaing assembly excluding the crank.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So just get forged internals for my 2v? even though 4v engines are better.what should I go for ?

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
Your confusing me so bad lol. You said your dropping a 04 Cobra engine in your car. An 04 Cobra motor is 4V with a forged bottom end. Best of both worlds. The Cobra motors are rated for 750rwhp, but people have gotten them into the 900's and even seen a few 1000rwhp TT cobras on the stock bottom end.

So if thats the case, dont bother with the MMR600 ****. Theres no point. Your basically downgrading the cobra motor.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
My bad I'm confusing.let's start all over I have 140,000 miles on the engine I want to go supercharged making at least 450 rwhp .do I need forged internals then go s/c?????

·
Registered
11,469 Posts
I would deff go forged crank rods and pistons for any high hp build but it gets kind of pricey

·
Registered
21,024 Posts