Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my car is basically stock right now except for my mac catback. I was planning on picking up an MRT catted h pipe soon but also thinking of buying a tuner as i heard it's good to have. My question is since my car is still basically stock would i see any benefits from the tune. I'm planning on getting 4.10's installed sometime early next year and i know i'll probably need a tuner for that.

Is a 91 tune worth doing since my car is practically stock. Besides a 91 tune is there anything else the tuner can do on a stock car where i'll see a bit of performance gain? I'm new to all this still since i've only had the car less than three months and i have never worked on a car before this one so i'm still a noob.

·
Registered
161 Posts
your car is gonna sound badass with that exhaust set up

·
It's in the details Mod!
11,051 Posts
Sorry to Hijack, right now I am running 4.10's, ORX, intake with a canned tune. I just ordered a Kar Kraft 3/8" intake spacer. The canned tune is enough for now, but the car is running rich now without the cats, and with adding the intake spacer I want to know what you recommend.

Thanks.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Its a toss up. for $/hp its not bad at all, but don't expect it to feel like boost or juice. If you plan on more mods then do it for sure.
What kind of hp gain would i see by upping the octane? I was looking at the SF3 on am.com and it said average hp gain on a stock mustang with an octane boost was 22 hp. I think thats bullshit cause thats a huge gain but i could be wrong.

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
wrr1020 kinda in the same boat with you my only other question is does anyone sell a tune that wont need a custom tune or is it best to get a tuner that needs a custom tune from a company

and bro no your most likely gonna see 10rwhp 22 is probably at the flywheel

·
Registered
852 Posts