Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok fellas

Recently my car has ben making i ticking noise and a chirping noise from the clutch area... i am 99% sure it is the throw out bearing. I have a few questions?

I know its part of the clutch but can anybody dumb down what a throw out bearing does and how it works? (reps)

And from searching i have heard that freeway driving will make it worse... is it stop and go freeway or cruising that makes it go and why?

My car has 90,000 miles on it so i have a feeling i should just do the whole clutch while i have it appart so that i dont have to do it in a little bit...

Thanks guys im a newb:cool:

·
MM's Ford Truck Guy
1,352 Posts
nuttin man its a inside joke on here my bad i was just bumping your thread but on a serious note if you are going to just replace the TOB then i would do a clutch also seeing that its right there anyway and you have 90k on it. But a throw out bearing is pushed by a arm which hits metal arms which ingagues the clutch i dont know technical terms but i know how it works ill try to get a pic

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
You'll know if it's the TOB if you put your toe lightly on the clutch and the sound goes away. had it happen to me too with 60k miles. changed clutch and put on new one, good as new.

and yes, while you're at it, at 90k miles i'd get rid of the factory clutch as it'll likely need replaced in the next 30 or so thousand miles. and you'll be 90% of the way there when you take off the TOB.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
+ would a tob be a light tick or nock comingi right by where the clutch is... it happens in any gear even neutral while its rolling i think, and it goes away as soon as i push the clutch in... It also has a quiet chirp while its just sitting and as soon as i push the clutch in even just a hair it goes away

·
MM's Ford Truck Guy
1,352 Posts