Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple months ago my engine started ticking. It sounds like an exhaust leak but neither I or my mechanic could find one. My mechanic is suspecting a lifter is starved of oil or going bad. Pulling the valve cover off, what are some things I could do to check clearances with the lifters, valves, rockers, etc and verify everything is as it should or need to be replaced? I have never done anything like this before so the more detail the better.

First I'm going to do a seafoam treatment to see if an oil port is struggling on a lifter.

·
US Air Force (retired)
13,542 Posts
I had a leaking lifter in a Chevy V8. It would go down when the truck sat and it was clatter like crazy on startup. The noise went away as soon as the oil got flowing. I tried putting in a thick oil once to see that that would do. Big mistake. It clattered louder and took longer to pump up. I drove the truck that way for years.

Does you lifter pump up after the motor warms up?

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not quite sure what the means. I haven't taken the valve cover off yet, because it's my DD, so that will have to wait till the weekend. I have a video of it the noise. The engine is at normal operating temp.

https://youtu.be/ay98o2P7fA8

·
US Air Force (retired)
13,542 Posts
A lifter tick is a result of the hydraulic lifter loosing oil and collapsing a little increasing the rocker arm slap (the gap between the top of the lifter and the rocker arm.) The tick is the rocker arm striking the lifter. Once the oil gets hot and starts flowing if not stuck the hydraulic lifter will fill with oil expanding to get rid of the extra slap. That is what the lifter in my truck did. And the ticking would go away when the engine warmed up. If it doesn't it could be dirt clogging the lifter or a bad lifter.