Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Current suspension set up on my 95-

Eibach springs(lowered a little), front controls arms from 03 cobra, steeda ball joints, tockiko shocks and struts (non adjustable).

I may take this car to the track 2 times a year. I want something that will make it take some good corners and give me some added grip for launches. So im guessing i need to get rear c-arms, front and rear sway bars...right? anything else?

WHat is the difference in a panhard bar and a sway bar?

I am no suspension expert, so will adjutable rear c-arms really do me any good? Any good brands (not the most expensive), or some to stay away from.

thanks for the help peeps.

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
Easy answer is talk to Maximum Motorsports, and buy the most expensive grip box of theirs you can afford. They start at about $1k, and come with matched components.

Long answer:

There are 3 main problems with the fox chassis suspension.
1) Chassis flex
2) The rear suspension geometry is crap
3) The front suspension does not allow for a proper alignment (and the geometry leaves much to be desired).

Now, before tackling any of the above, you should make sure that all maintenance is dealt with, and anything needing to be fixed gets done first. Mods should always come after repairs (unless you can do both at the same time :D ).

Here's my list of what you should do. It's not complete, it's mostly in order (though you can argue some things should be done at different points), and it assumes that you're NOT going coil-over.

1) Good Tires. Tires are the only thing on your car that is in contact with the road. They are what is going to most directly affect grip, braking, and handling. The best suspension in the world is worthless on crap tires.