Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I've been building my car up for a few months now. Started with the On3Performance kit and some other goodies. The car has been more than impressive with modifications to the original turbo kit. However, you know how enough is never enough. In the next few months, I'm redoing everything and shooting for the 8-900hp mark. Starting with MMR internals and their Stage 2 turbo cams, SPEC Stage 3 clutch kit and new fly wheel (TBD), maybe a smaller, but more efficient Borg Warner turbo, and the list carries on. All this will be great unless I can't get it to the ground. All my suspension is going to be redone with coilovers, etc. Most importantly though, I know the stock transmission is basically going to give me the middle finger after a few hard launches. I see some really great transmissions that are already setup to handle this power on the market, but some of them cost more than a new motor. Anyone have any suggestions on something that might hep keep the cost down? Can the stock tranny be rebuilt with upgrades? I want to keep the car has a manual, otherwise I would go to a powerglide. Anyways, any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
FBGM
6,177 Posts
Theres really no way to get a cheap trans to get that power, your looking at atleast 3k for something thats 700hp rated.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah and that's kind of reasonable. I was referring to more of the trannies that cost upwards of 5k.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts