Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i'm in the process of rebuilding my intake system (MAC CAI, 70mm TB, C&L plenum), i hope to be able to reduuild my exhaust setup (MAC L/Ts, x-pipe [catted], SLP catback), then by the end of the summer get some 4.10s.

my question is, with it spread out so much should i get a tune after each faze or can it wait til lthe end and just get 1 tune? by tune should i just get a diablosport of something, or do i need ned to take it to a dyno? i'm new to this (and there's prob some treads about this already, but i did do some lookin around before starting the thread) so any help would be great!

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yah, i hear ppl say that cai won't do a thing without a tune. but i that goes for exhaust and gears too. i dont' have the money to go to dyno after ech step, but if a hand held will do the trick, i can just retune after each one myself.

hope somebody who knows there stuff will post... haha.....

·
Registered
148 Posts
lol yea same here...i havent done much with my tuner, i have just installed the diablo tune that comes on the dam thing lol i am planning on futzing around with it this weekend. i wish i knew a dyno place nearby tho...have someone who knows what they are doing tune it

·
Zoolander
7,719 Posts
you don't need a tune, but mods work better together with a nice tune. A tune helps bring everything together, and work together like all your stock components do.

·
Registered
1,994 Posts
a tuner will be fine for the most part. I had to get mine dyno tuned after my long tubes (most people don't)... because extending the O2 sensors so far down, the air was cooling off before it got to the O2's, making them read crazy and the computer was trying to compensate and was making the car run like hammered ass. It would literally just about give you whiplash it would buck so hard

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·