Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first post. I'm new to the mustang world, i have a problem i hope someone can help me with. i have a 1992 5.0 lx with a 67mm turbo with a 44mm wastegate that bottle necks into a 38mm blowoff. the engine is compleatly stock with 42# injectors. When i bought the car it had the turbo on it. I had it tuned with a SCT chip. The first time i had it tunned i was running 10psi of boost. I had it tuned again a month later with the next size spring (the 13psi spring). at the dyno i was still pulling 10 psi. I took it to the track 4 days later, and it all of a sudden started runnung 11.5 to 12 psi. Now at full load the engine has a hesitation at high rpm's (4500 and up). I checked the plugs and there gap I gaped them at .034. The plugs where white like the car is running lean. I think since the boost went up the car is running to much air not enough fuel. if anyone has any suggestions on my problem please write back. i think i need to take it back to the dyno and have my fuel adjusted.

·
Banned
3,385 Posts
umm I ran 10 psi on my stock motor and dropped it back down to 8psi so I wouldn't toast the block since I daily drive it but 12 psi i'd be a little hesitant on racing it until I got at least the boost control worked out and tuned down to what boost level the tune was for before you have a anchor of an engine.

Buy and install a wideband o2 and see how lean you are or get it dyno tuned at that boost level to a desirable afr

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
I think your detonating. Meaning your not getting the proper fuel and or spark mixture. What fuel pump and what grade of gas are you using?

·
Registered
7,599 Posts
You answered your own question. The car has a 13# spring and is tuned for 10#. Now it's on 12.5#. That means alot more air and the same amount of fuel.