Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone please give me some tips on doing this swap I have a donor mach 1 with 78k miles that was wrecked and I plan on rebuilding engine then swapping it into my 04 v6 this is my first time and I need some info on what to start with first while I have the mach 1 just sitting in my garage

·
Premium Member
9,751 Posts
Can someone please give me some tips on doing this swap I have a donor mach 1 with 78k miles that was wrecked and I plan on rebuilding engine then swapping it into my 04 v6 this is my first time and I need some info on what to start with first while I have the mach 1 just sitting in my garage
the only things the 2 cars your working with share is the basic body, some of the glass, dashboard, front spindles & hvac system.

every other part is diffrent so if you insist on doing a swap like this (defenately not recomended for a first timer) the best place to start is completely disassembling the mach 1 & bagging/marking every single nut/bolt/clip/wire/etc.

you will have your hands full, good luck with it but very few swaps like this get finished because of underestimation of the work involved.

you'd be better off cutting up the v6 for the body parts to fix the mach 1 or at least buying a GT to swap the mach 1 drivetrain into.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the only things the 2 cars your working with share is the basic body, some of the glass, dashboard, front spindles & hvac system.

every other part is diffrent so if you insist on doing a swap like this (defenately not recomended for a first timer) the best place to start is completely disassembling the mach 1 & bagging/marking every single nut/bolt/clip/wire/etc.

you will have your hands full, good luck with it but very few swaps like this get finished because of underestimation of the work involved.