·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The question says it all.

·
Registered
193 Posts
It all depends on your car. Stock, mildly modified? You will need a bigger MAF if you are flowing more air. Are you talking brand name or size? I'm no expert, but the guys that are will need to know this.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It all depends on your car. Stock, mildly modified? You will need a bigger MAF if you are flowing more air. Are you talking brand name or size? I'm no expert, but the guys that are will need to know this.
Well when someone answers the "Why?" that'll explain the "Which one?"

·
Banned
3,385 Posts
larger would of course eliminate one of a few restrictions on the intake side of things.. it's easy to do and doesn't cost too much so it's popular.

I'd personally start by removing the air silencer in the fenderwell where the airbox is if your car is still totally stock. That has been proven to rob 3rwhp on the dyno and really has no purpose.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I see a lot of misunderstanding in the replies.

"Which MAF?"
Size, brand, etc.

"Why?"
Why choose this one?

What I have in my car makes no difference to someone else's answers.

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
Generally, the bigger the better, you will run into things like cai's and fan wash and flow problems.

The only one I'd go with an an NA engine is the DBX. It has alot of cool features and flows well, and can be altered via a computer.

·
Registered
4,356 Posts
If your stock then focus on other things first

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I still see a lot of misunderstanding in the replies.

"Which MAF?"
Size, brand, etc.

"Why?"
Why choose this one?

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
That kind of attitude's not gonna get you real far. Every part on the market exists because there's a situation that justifies it over any the rest.