Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Lone wolf in a fox world
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey MM, so what's the big deal about converting from a 4lug wheel to 5??

·
Keep Moving Forward
1,006 Posts
I'm no expert, but the reasons that stick out to me are: it's stronger, and your wheel choice greatly expands.

·
Lone wolf in a fox world
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, so there is no performance advantage?

·
!FACEPLATED!
15,305 Posts
Mostly for the same reason people convert from 28 spline to 31 spline axles, strength. But 4 lug can be strong if the stock studs are replaced with hardened studs

Sent from my LG-AS680 using AutoGuide App

·
Registered
6,990 Posts
Strength of the studs can be increased by different studs as F8L said, but it's more of a concern having only 4 lugs with autocross cars and side loads.

·
Watch n learn
876 Posts
True about strength, but to a degree, stock axles will break before the studs will, 4-lug studs are plenty strong, they usually only break if they've been stretched/overtightened. I can't say about autocross, but Saleen and the others used to use 4 lug until '86 I think.

·
Registered
7,462 Posts
^^^ which sweet 4 lug wheels you talking about? There isn't much that I know of. Cobra R, old Saleen SC, and the GT500 versions is all I can think of.

Sent from my XT907 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
I like all the ones you mentioned above :) Personally I like the 03 Cobras. You can get nice aftermarket 93 Cobras, Chrome ponies etc. You can get Weld drag lites/stars. Get a staggered fit on any of those they look cool in my opinion. I'm just not into the crazier custom wheel designs. Most Foxes I have seen are running one of the wheels we listed.

·
Registered
4,709 Posts
Are 4 lugs drum or rotors?

·
Registered
11,200 Posts