Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I know there have been quite a few threads on cluthes but I couldnt find the info I was looking for through the search...

Anyways, my clutch is starting to slip pretty good when I go WOT. I have never had a clutch go bad in any of my cars so I am pretty new at this. This is the stock clutch on my 08 GT. I am running 492/445 to the wheels so I knew the clutch would eventually go.

I have been looking all over online for reviews and what not trying to find the best setup for my car. I dont plan on upping my power level for at least another year or so (built motor) so I need a great setup for this level.

From what I have read/heard I dont want a SPEC clutch. I have heard tons of negatives about them and very few good reviews and I just dont want to chance it. I do plan on re-using the stock flywheel if possible.

I have read that McLeod RST is the way to go. Also heard that is can be used with the stock flywheel and it doesnt cause issues with the stock TOB. I am looking for your opinions and personal experiece with any a/m clutch setup that would be good for me.

I do like the twin disk setup, and I dont want to spend over 1k for the setup. Thank in advance for any/all info.

·
Tini Tini Bo Bini
9,029 Posts
Ive heard the p51 clutch is good.

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
i have a centerforce dual friction clutch with the centerforce steel flywheel. it grabs hold pretty good, had it on for about 6-8 months now, no problems. it's a little heavier than stock, but not too bad at all for a DD.

·
At the Apex pulling 1.28g
6,578 Posts
I have also heard the P51 Clutch is good, holds high power with the feel of the stock clutch... this is what I plan on putting in mine when the stocker goes.

·
The Despised Vert
3,557 Posts